You are here: Sligo Town Branch CCÉ Hompage > Fiddler of Dooney Competition

Fiddler of Dooney Competition

Sligo Town Branch of CCÉ in association with Sligo Live and supported by Sligo County Council again hosted the Fiddler of Dooney Competition over the October Bank Holiday weekend (26th - 27th) 2019. The standard of competition was as always excellent and musicians from far and wide travel to attend.

The competition, inagurated in 1965, is one of the oldest and most prestigious instrumental competitions in the tradition and is inspired by the W B Yeats poem, of the same name.


Winners of the Fiddler of Dooney Competition 2019

Junior Winners

  • 1st place: Maebh McGlinchey
  • 2nd place: Jamesie Wray
  • 3rd place: Cillian Ó Cathasaigh

Senior Winners

  • 1st place: Clare Anne Kearns
  • 2nd place: Sineád McKenna
  • 3rd place: Caoimhe Flannery




View Full List of Previous Winners here.

The role of previous winners reads like a who’s who of traditional fiddling and includes Matt Cranitch, Cathal Hayden, Brid Harper, Liz Kane, Paddy Glacken, Seamus and Manus McGuire.

In recent years winners have included Darragh Curtain 2014, Sarah O'Gorman 2015, Jason McGuinness 2016 and last years winner was Caoimhe Kearins. Winners have come from all over the country and from traditional musicians based overseas. Competitors need not be tied to any rigid formula or to play in a Sligo style, although Sligo Live celebrates the Sligo style with its infectious lift.